The 4Cs of Diamond Quality is the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. That four C's are cut, color, clarity, and carat weight.


The Cut/Shape allows the light to reflect  and gives the stone's brilliance. If the proportions are not right , it will shine less because the light inside is not adequately reflected. It is the only "C" that depends on human"savoir faire". 


It's the most popular cut for diamonds. The stone is cut in the shape of a cone with the top rounded off which enables it to return the light that enters it. It is considered the most brilliant of diamond cuts and its symmetrical shape allows it to maximise all its qualities. With its 57 facets, divided among the crown, girdle and pavilion it is perfectly calibrated.


Created in the 1970s, princess cut diamond are a contemporary alternative to the classic round brilliant diamond engagement ring. The top of a princess cut diamond is square with pointed corners, while its general shape is a pyramid. This cut has 76 facets.


This diamond is also known as teardrop because of its single point and rounded end. The pear shaped diamond is a brilliant cut diamond that blends the shape of an round diamond and a marquise diamond. Pear shaped diamonds are sublime in pendants and earrings. The round part glitters the most.


Named after the French word for breadstick, it's slim and rectangular. This is a popular choice for eternity rings. They are also used as an accent stone to accentuate a larger stone in a diamond cluster ring or are united with similar sized round brilliant cut diamonds to create a stunning look.


The Oval shape was designed in the 1960s by Lazare Kaplan, who aided the development of round brilliant diamonds. Oval shaped diamonds share a similar cut with the traditional round brilliant but have a more contemporary edge. An oval shaped diamond is perfectly symmetrical and has usually 56 facets. 


Heart-shaped diamonds have 59 facets and their technical name is ‘the heart-shaped modified brilliant’, because it started with a round shape. This fancy diamond cut adds a distinct, feminine and romantic touch to any piece of diamond jewellery. The cut requires a highly skilled diamond cutter to ensure optimum brilliance as it is intricate.


The legend would say the marquise shape was created at the request of King Louis XIV, the sun king, who wanted a stone to represent the sultry smile of his mistress, the Marquise de Pompadour. The end result was a lengthened shape in a diamond cut with sharp ends. This shape can maximize carat weight, giving a much larger-looking diamond. Marquise diamonds work beautifully as a central stone in a diamond engagement ring, or as an accent stone in diamond jewellery. The construction of the facets requires a lot of experience and fragility of the sharp points demands utmost precaution.


Color is one of the most important thing in a diamond: The less body color in a diamond, the more true color it will reflect, and thus the greater its value. The GIA grades diamonds on a scale of D (colorless) through Z (light color). All D-Z diamonds are considered white, even though they contain varying degrees of color. True fancy colored diamonds (such as yellows, pinks, and blues) are graded on a separate color scale. Color becomes more important as carat weight increases, because color is easier to perceive in a larger diamond.


Because they are formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure; virtually all diamonds contain "birthmarks"; small imperfections inside the diamond (called inclusions), or on its surface (called blemishes). Clarity refers to the degree to which these imperfections are present. Below is the GIA diamond clarity scale:

1) IF Internally Flawless 

No inclusions, only blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10x magnification.

2) Very Very Small Inclusions (VVS)

VVS1: One inclusion, typically only visible from the pavillion. Difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification.
VVS22: Various inclusions. Difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification.

3) Very Small Inclusions (VS)

VS1: One inclusion clearly visible under 10x magnification but can be characterized as minor.
VS2: Various inclusions clearly visible under 10x magnification but can be characterized as minor.

4) Small Inclusions  

SI1: Is the lowest grade with flaws often invisible to the naked eye
SI2: Are usually visible to the naked eye, although they will require close inspection

5) Included 1 

I1: Diamonds have inclusions that are almost always visible to the naked eye.
I2-I3: This diamonds have prounounced inclusions, and in the case of I3 may even affect the diamond's durability

4cs-diamond-Carat-EN.jpgCarat is specifically a measure of a diamond's weight, and by itself may not accurately reflect a diamond's size.  The word "carat" comes from the "carob" seed, the original unit of measure for diamond traders. Today, a carat is equal to exactly 0.2 grams.

As the carat size of a diamond increases, the diamond's price increases at an increasing rate because the larger the diamond, the more increasingly rare it is. Fewer than one in one million mined rough stones are large enough to produce a finished 1 carat diamond